Players of the Year Mikeltadze and Davis receive awards haul

New names were etched in the history books of the Newcastle Jets at the Player of the Year Awards Night, as Beka Mikeltadze and Cass Davis both won the Players of the Year awards and a host of others, capping a terrific season.

In his maiden season in the A-League, Mikeltadze managed 13 goals to win the team’s Golden Boot, and also the Craig Johnston Medal, and the top prize of Nigel Boogard Player of the Year award.

Captain Cassidy Davis also took home multiple awards, winning the Women’s Player of the Year, Cheryl Salisbury Dedication Award, and the Members’ Women’s Player of the Year.

Angus Thurgate took out the Members’ Player of the Year award for the Men, while Marie Dolvik was named the Golden Boot Winner for the Women despite a five-way tie after collecting the most assists.

Young guns Kirsty Fenton and Kosta Grozos were named as the Rising Stars, while for the first time, our top Academy players were recognised with Angus Muddle and Lara Gooch winning the inaugural Emerging Jet Awards.

Following an attendee-vote on the night, Daniel Penha and Tiana Jaber also won Goal of the Year thanks to two stunning goals throughout the season.

Full list of award winners:

  • Nigel Boogard Player of the Year: Beka Mikeltadze
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Cass Davis
  • Craig Johnston Medal: Beka Mikeltadze
  • Cheryl Salisbury Dedication Award: Cass Davis
  • Men’s Members’ Player of the Year: Angus Thurgate
  • Women’s Members’ Player of the Year: Cass Davis
  • Men’s Rising Star: Kosta Grozos
  • Women’s Rising Star: Kirsty Fenton
  • Men’s Goal of the Year: Daniel Penha v Western United, FFA Cup Play-off
  • Women’s Goal of the Year: Tiana Jaber v Western Sydney Wanderers, Round 3
  • Boy’s Emerging Jet Award: Angus Muddle
  • Girl’s Emerging Jet Award: Lara Gooch