W-League: Ins & Outs for Match Day 3



Coach Ashley Wilson has made two changes to the squad that will take on the dangerous Brisbane Roar Sunday night at at McDonald Jones Stadium.

Midfielder Chloe O’Brien has been withdrawn from the side after a suffering a slight hamstring strain in last week’s loss to Sydney FC.

Coming into the squad is defensive midfielder Evelyn Chronis and defender Tiana Jaber.

After spending the early part of the week planning to play ladder-leaders, Canberra, Wilson’s coaching team had to quickly change focus to the Roar after a mid-week change to the Westfield W-League draw.

However, Wilson was confident her charges would welcome the challenge of taking on a side stacked with current and former Matildas.

“Brisbane are going to be a challenge,” Wilson said.

“They have been threatening for the last few rounds and have the most current Matildas of any squad in the league, with the likes of Katrina Gory, Tamika Yallop, Emily  Gielnik and Claire Polkinghorne.

“Our girls have shown they are more than capable of creating opportunities and taking it to teams, and have been really focused this week on building on their past performances, and doing what they need to do to come away with a win”.

The girls game will kick-off at 6.40pm, after the completion of the A-League match between the Jets and Macarthur.



Sunday 17 January 2021 

Newcastle Jets v Brisbane Roar  

McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle 

Kick-Off: 6:40pm

Referee: Isabella Libri

Assistant Referee 1: Anastasia Filacouridis

Assistant Referee 2: Lauren Hargrave

Fourth Official: Rebecca Mackie

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 6:30pm (AEDT), Sky Sport 7 (New Zealand), Kayo Sports (www.kayosports.com.au) and MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers 

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #NEWvBRI 

To purchase tickets visit www.w-league.com.au/tickets  

Newcastle Jets squad: 2.Hanna BREWER, 3.Jemma HOUSE, 5.Alisha BASS, 6.Cassidy DAVIS, 7.Gema Simon (c), 8.Evelyn Chronis, 9.Tara ANDREWS, 10.Pana PETRATOS, 11.Rhianna POLLICINA, 12.Tessa TAMPLIN, 13.Lauren ALLAN, 14.Tiana JABER, 15.Sophie HARDING, 16.Sunny FRANCO, 18.Taren KING, 20.Claire COELHO (GK), 30.Nicole SIMONSEN (GK)

**1 to be omitted**

Ins:  8.Evelyn Chronis (promoted), 14.Tiana JABER (promoted), 

Outs: 4.Chloe O’Brien (hamstring, 2 weeks)

Unavailable: Nil

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Georgina WORTH (gk), 2.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 6.Winonah HEATLEY, 7.Kim CARROLL, 8.Mariel HECHER, 9.Rosie SUTTON, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Sharn FREIER, 13.Tameka YALLOP, 14.Leticia MCKENNA, 15.Emily GIELNIK, 16.Jamilla RANKIN, 19.Rebekah HORSEY, 21.Morgan AQUINO (gk), 22.Anna MARGRAF, 23.Isobel DALTON, 25.Olivia CHANCE

**2 to be omitted**

Ins: 11.Sharn FREIER (promoted), 13.Tameka YALLOP (promoted), 22.Anna MARGRAF (promoted)

Outs: 5.Billie MURPHY (departed club)

Unavailable: Nil