Squad: The men for Friday in Sydney


It’s an unchanged 20-man squad named by Ernie Merrick in contention for Friday night’s clash with the Sky Blues.

The trip to Leichhardt is an historic one for the Jets, who are yet to play at the venue since the Hyundai A-League’s inception in 2005.

A week free of any major injury concerns or suspensions means it’s a consistent squad at the boss’ disposal. Jason Hoffman, a primary concern going into the week, looks to have shaken off a calf issue. 

Jason Hoffman Adelaide United

Maki Petratos made a debut appearance and Abdiel Arroyo scored a debut Hyundai A-League goal, and both are in the mix to feature once again this Friday night.

Here are the 20 men in contention for a spot against Sydney.

Newcastle Jets FC Squad: 1.Glen MOSS (gk), 2.Bobby BURNS, 3.Jason HOFFMAN, 4.Nigel BOOGAARD (c), 5.Ben KANTAROVSKI, 6.Steven UGARKOVIC, 9.Abdiel ARROYO, 10.Dimi PETRATOS, 11.Nick FITZGERALD, 16.Matt MILLAR, 18.Johnny KOUTROUMBIS, 19.Kosta PETRATOS, 20.Lewis ITALIANO, 22.Lachlan JACKSON, 23.Matt RIDENTON, 25.Jack SIMMONS, 28.Pat LANGLOIS, 31.Maki PETRATOS, 32.Angus THURGATE, 44.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (2-4 to be omitted)

Ins: 19.Kosta PETRATOS (promoted), 25.Jack SIMMONS (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable:  8.Wes HOOLAHAN (ankle – indefinite), 14.Kaine SHEPPARD (foot – indefinite)