REVIEW: Jets suffer Perth punch


A stunning Jason Hoffman strike combined with a fine header from Andrew Hoole wasn’t enough for Newcastle Jets to defeat Perth Glory in Western Australia on Saturday.

The Jets fell behind in the 13th minute when Spaniard Diego Castro found the back of the net via a penalty he had won just a minute earlier after he was fouled in the box by Newcastle skipper Nigel Boogaard.

Mark Jones’ men managed to restore parity to the contest in the 37th minute when Hoole sent a powerful header in off Nicholas Feely’s right post following brilliant lead up play involving Andrew Nabbout and Hoffman.

But Newcastle didn’t remain on level terms for very long as former Getafe star Castro netted his second of the game just five minutes later. Evading the Jets defence Castro cut in on his right and sent a crisp low strike past Jack Duncan.

Glory extended their lead just before the hour mark when former Newcastle attacker Adam Taggart fired home at the far post having been well picked out by Josh Risdon.

Hoffman gave the Jets hope in the 71st minute when he collected the ball outside the area before firing in one of the club’s goals of the season – a 25-yard bomb that left Feely with little chance.

And while Newcastle created some late opportunities to level proceedings again, chances to substitute Wayne Brown and Hoffman could not be converted.

3-2 the final score in Perth.

The Jets will return to New South Wales on Sunday in preparation for next Saturday’s huge home clash against Melbourne Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium. Kick-off on Saturday 11 February is at 5:35pm.

Perth Glory 3 (Castro 13’ (pen), 42’, Taggart 59’)
Newcastle Jets 2 (Hoole 37’, Hoffman 71’)
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth, Western Australia
Referee: Jonathan Barreiro
Attendance: 12,903

Newcastle Jets: 2. Daniel MULLEN, 3. Jason HOFFMAN, 4. Nigel BOOGAARD (C), 7. Andrew HOOLE, 8. Mateo POLJAK, 15. Andrew NABBOUT, 18. MA Leilei (10. Wayne BROWN 58’), 19. Morten NORDSTRAND (12. Harrison SAWYER 70’), 20. Jack DUNCAN (Gk), 22. Lachlan JACKSON, 28. Johnny KOUTROUMBIS (23. Devante CLUT 83’)
Substitutes not used: 16. Nicholas COWBURN, 50. Tomislav ARCABA
Yellow cards: Jackson, Ma, Mullen
Red cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 4. Shane LOWRY (5. Rhys WILLIAMS 38’), 4. Dino DJULBIC, 8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS (C), 9. Andrew KEOGH, 13. Nicholas FEELY (Gk), 14. Chris HAROLD (10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC 72’), 15. Brandon WILSON, 16. Joseph MILLS, 15. Brandon WILSON, 17. Diego CASTRO, 19. Joshua RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART (24. Milan SMILJANIC 89’)
Substitutes not used: 7. Joel CHIANESE, 30. Jordan THURTELL (Gk)
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil