REVIEW: Jets gunned down by Glory


Newcastle Jets suffered a heavy defeat on Sunday, falling 6-1 at home to Perth Glory.

9,403 supporters witnessed the Jets dominate the early stages of the contest – Scott Miller’s men took the lead through Milos Trifunović’s 14th minute header.

However after the bright start the Jets’ match turned miserable, Chris Harold and Diego Castro scoring before the break to give Glory the lead.

Newcastle’s dissapointment was compounded when captain Nigel Boogaard was dismissed by referee Shaun Evans for his second booking of the match just before half time.

After the break Glory managed to find the back of the net four times against the ten-men of Newcastle to earn a large away win.

A Daniel Mullen own goal in the 48th minute of play was followed by Harold’s second of the match in the 54th minute of the match.

Defender Alex Grant scored Perth’s fifth in the 74th minute, while Spaniard Castro rounded out the romp in the 88th minute with his second of the afternoon.

Newcastle Jets travel to Adelaide in Hyundai A-League 2015/16 round 17 next Sunday 31 January 2016.

Newcastle Jets 1 (Trifunovic 14’)
Perth Glory 6 (Harold 24’, 54’, Castro 45’, 88’, Mullen (OG) 48’, Grant 74’)
Hunter Stadium, Newcastle
Shaun Evans
Attendance: 9,403

Newcastle Jets: 1. Mark Birighitti (Gk), 2. Daniel Mullen, 3. Jason Hoffman, 4. Nigel Boogaard (C), 6. Cameron Watson (24. Nicholas Cowburn 46’), 7. Enver Alivodic, 8. Mateo Poljak, 9. Milos Trifunovic (10. Leonardo 57’), 22. Lachlan Jackson, 23. David Carney (27. Braedyn Crowley 77’), 28. Ryan Kitto
Substitutes not used: 14. Mitch Cooper, 20. Ben Kennedy
Yellow cards: Poljak, Boogaard x2
Red cards: Boogaard

Perth Glory: 1. Ante Covic (Gk), 2. Alex Grant, 3. Marc Warren, 7. Gyorgy Sandor, 10. Nebojsa Marinkovic (24. Jamal Reiners 73’), 13. Diogo Ferreira, 14. Chris Harold (9. Andy Keogh 62’), 17. Diego Castro, 18. Mitchell Oxborrow (11. Richard Garcia 76’), 19. Joshua Risdon (C), 29. Aryn Williams
Substitutes not used: 12. Jerrad Tyson (Gk), 31. Ross Millard
Yellow cards: Warren, Garcia
Red cards: Nil