REVIEW: Jets defeat Edgeworth 4-0


Newcastle Jets secured an impressive 4-0 win over the Northern NSW NPL Champions Edgeworth FC at Jack McLaughlan Oval on Sunday afternoon.

Edgeworth put up a strong fight but couldn’t manage to stop the Jets’ attacking forces, with goals to Andrew Hoole (two), Morten Nordstrand and Devante Clut sealing success for the Jets.

Newcastle kicked off the first half well, controlling possession in the early stages. Hoole opened scoring in the 29th minute, slamming the ball home from the penalty spot after Nordstrand was brought down in the box.

Clut extended the Jets’ lead in the 42nd minute, sending a firm strike into the back of the net after Nordstrand had flicked the ball behind to set up a great opportunity.

Andrew Nabbout sent an excellent cross through to Nordstrand in the 58th minute to open up the opportunity for goal number three. Nordstrand slid the ball impressively past Edgeworth’s keeper Jim Fogarty to extend the lead to 3-0.

Hoole scored his second of the afternoon in the 71st minute, showing confidence to unsettle Edgeworth’s defence and fire the ball into the back of the net from just outside the area.

Newcastle’s second half substitute goalkeeper Jack Duncan made some excellent saves in the second stanza to ensure the Jets kept their goal intact.

1-0: The Jets opened the scoring in the 29th minute, with Hoole converting a penalty after Nordstrand was brought down in the box.

2-0: Devante Clut extended the lead for Newcastle in the 42nd minute, with a sharp finish off Nordstrand’s back-heel.

3-0: Nordstrand got on the end of a beautiful cross from Nabbout to slide the ball past Fogarty and extend the lead to 3-0 in the 58th minute.

4-0: Hoole did well to roll Edgeworth’s defence and put a shot past Fogarty to take the 4-0 lead in the 71st minute.

12’ Hoole earnt a free kick at the edge of the area to give the Jets their first real chance to take the lead but he sent it high over the crossbar.

16’ Nabbout sent a quality cross to Nordstrand but Fogarty managed to deny the shot.

17’ Daniel Mullen sent a header toward goal after a corner, but it was collected by Fogarty.  

61’ Brymora sent a strike toward goal but it went wide to miss the goal.

64’ Nabbout curled a great shot on target but Fogarty managed to deny the former Melbourne Victory man.

77’ Jack Duncan made a great stop to deny Edgeworth the chance to get a goal on the board.

Andrew Hoole had an excellent game, working well with Nick Cowburn to impress down the left. Hoole managed to create several quality opportunities and score two excellent goals to make a huge impact in the game.

Interim Head Coach Clayton Zane praised the intensity of Hoole’s performance, saying: “It’s good for his confidence. For him in particular, he’s really got a point to prove.”

“There’s no better way to move on with things than playing football matches.”

“It’s an important game for us and it was a potential banana skin as well.”

“The group stayed very solid. Part of my plan today was always to give as many people minutes as possible because they’ve stuck together through a difficult time and as a result of that they all need to be rewarded with some game time.”

“They (Jets) looked very comfortable at the back. That team that started – you feel very secure with what’s there in terms of the back four.

“There’s going to be real competition for spots in the squad this year.”

Newcastle Jets 4 (Hoole 29’ (pen), 71’, Clut 42’, Nordstrand 58’)
Edgeworth Eagles 0
Venue: Jack McLaughlan Oval, Edgeworth

Newcastle Jets FC: 1. Ben Kennedy (Gk) (20. Jack Duncan (Gk) 46’), 2. Daniel Mullen, 3. Jason Hoffman, 4. Nigel Boogaard (5. Benjamin Kantarovski 59’), 6. Steven Ugarkovic (8. Mateo Poljak 46’), 7. Andrew Hoole (17. Radovan Pavicevic 80’), 10. Wayne Brown (28. Antonee Burke 70’), 15. Andrew Nabbout (12. Andy Brennan 80’), 16. Nicholas Cowburn, 19. Morten Nordstrand (24. Kristian Brymora 59’), 23. Devante Clut (34. Cameron Joice 80’)

Edgeworth Eagles FC: 1. Jim Fogarty (Gk) (20. Josh Low (Gk) 71’), 3. Dom Bizzari (12. Aden Gardiner 46’), 4. Pat Wheeler, 5. Ayden Brice, 6. Lachlan Pasquale (8. Daniel Minors 75’), 7. Bren Hammel, 10. Keanu Moore (14. Chris Fayers 71’), 11. Dylan Holz (16. Sam Maxwell 75’), 15. Josh Evans (C), 17. Keigo Moriyasu (13. Bailey Garland 71’), 19. Aaron McLouglin (18. Will Bower 63’)