Petratos Player of the Year as Dimi makes a clean sweep


It was an evening of celebration at Newcastle’s City Hall, as the Newcastle Jets held their Player of the Year Awards for their Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League seasons.

The club’s annual awards evening featured a swag of accolades and announcements, as the club reflected on a memorable year both on and off the pitch.

Dimi Petratos was the man of the moment, making a clean sweep of the Hyundai A-League gongs – sharing the Golden Boot with now Urawa Red, Andrew Nabbout.

Petratos and Nabbout each netted 10 goals in 2017/18, the first time the club has ever had two goal scorers in double-figures at the end of a regular season.

Dimi topped the voting for Men of Football’s, Ray Baartz Medal and also took out the Members’ Player of the Year.

The club’s top prize, the Player of the Year Award was whittled down to three nominees, Dimi Petratos, Nigel Boogaard and Andrew Nabbout; and the attacking midfielder would cap off a memorable season by claiming the night’s final award.

In the Westfield W-League, Tori Huster took out the coveted Player of the Year Award – having returned to the club after an earlier stint in 2014/15.

The midfielder, who is currently plying her trade in the NWSL with Washington Spirit had a standout year for the Jets, combining strongly with Emily Van Egmond and Clare Wheeler in the middle of the park.

Huster’s midfield compatriots would also be in the awards, as Van Egmond took out Members’ Player of the Year and Wheeler received the Cheryl Salisbury Dedication Award.

Katie Stengel was the Jets’ Westfield W-League Golden Boot, with 10 goals from her 13 appearances – finishing second on the league’s overall standings.

Westfield W-League winners:

  • Westfield W-League Player of the Year – Tori Huster
  • Westfield W-League Golden Boot – Katie Stengel
  • Members’ Westfield W-League Player of the Year – Emily Van Egmond
  • Cheryl Salisbury Dedication Award – Clare Wheeler

Hyundai A-League winners:

  • Hyundai A-League Golden Boot – Andrew Nabbout and Dimi Petratos (10)
  • Hyundai A-League Player of the Year – Dimi Petratos
  • Members’ Hyundai A-League Player of the Year – Dimi Petratos
  • Ray Baartz Medal – Dimi Petratos