Lundy aiming for big season with Jets Youth


The Newcastle Jets open their Foxtel National Youth League season against Melbourne Victory at Magic Park at 4pm on Saturday.

The Jets secured their highest ever finish in the Foxtel NYL competition in 2013/14, ending the season in second place on the competition ladder behind Sydney FC.

Newcastle are also coming off a strong campaign in the Northern NSW NPL, where they finished top of the table at the end of the regular season to secure the Minor Premiership.

Jets winger Brandon Lundy said the team is determined to build on the success of the past 18 months with another strong showing this campaign.

“We did well in the NYL last season and had a good year in the NPL as well, so we’ve got a lot of confidence heading into the season,” Lundy said.

“We’re setting out to win every game we play in this year, starting with Saturday’s game against Melbourne Victory, and we want to go one better than last season and finish on top of the ladder.”

After starring for the Jets Youth team last season, Lundy earned his first professional contract as a member of the Hyundai A-League squad.

Despite being on the Jets’ Hyundai A-League roster and training full-time with the squad, Lundy is still expected to be an integral part of the Jets Youth team’s endeavours this season as he continues his development as a footballer.

“Hopefully I can use a little bit of the experience that I’ve got from joining the first team and bring that back to the NYL and do well for the team,” Lundy said.

“We’ve still got a lot of the boys from the last NYL season and the NPL which is good, plus a few new faces have come in as well who I’m sure will do a good job for us.

“As a team, we’re just looking forward to getting the season started this weekend.”

Current Newcastle Jets Members can attend Saturday’s Foxtel NYL match against Melbourne Victory at Magic Park for free. Kick-off is at 4pm.

Newcastle Jets Foxtel National Youth League 2014/15 Squad:

John Solari
Jesse Cook
Nicholas Cowburn
Reece Papas
Roman Hofmann
Tom Whiteside
Ben Hay
Michael Kantarovski
Steve Whyte
Andrew Pawiak
Michael Finlayson
Nicholas Olsen
Brandon Lundy
Radovan Pavicevic
Tom Waller
Braedyn Crowley