Jets youth head to HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens


The Newcastle Jets will send a talented brigade of generation-next to the 2018 HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens – kicking-off on Saturday 19 May at the Hong Kong Football Club.

The prestigious tournament will see a host club’s from around the world in attendance including West Ham, Glasgow Rangers and the Kashima Antlers.

The Jets will fly the flag for Australia in the annual tournament, and will also be joined by the Hyundai A-League’s Wellington Phoenix.

Labi Halitii and Lawrie McKinna will lead the Jets across the weekend with a squad featuring first team player, Angus Thurgate.

Youth Team UoN

Thurgate said he was looking forward to the challenge of facing some of the world’s biggest clubs.

“It’s exiting to be taking part (HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens) this year, it’s going to be a great experience,” said Thurgate.

“We’ll be taking on some pretty big clubs, so it will be an opportunity to see where we’re at as we take on a format that’s pretty new to a lot of the boys.

“We’ve been working on a few things at training and I’m looking forward to playing seven-a-side, it will be fast-paced and moving the ball quickly will be important – hopefully it makes for some exciting football.

The Jets will face some strong opposition in Group C, taking on the Glasgow Rangers, Hong Kong Football Club and Newcastle United.

Led by Solomon-John Moanhan-Vaiika, the Jets side boasts a wealth of representative experience from the team currently competing in Northern New South Wales’ National Premier League.

The Newcastle Jets are proudly sponsored by the University of Newcastle for the 2018 HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens.

Hong Kong Soccer Sevens:

Group A: Wellington Phoenix, West Ham United, Kashima Antlers, Yau Yee Select

Group B: Aston Villa, Cagliari Calcio, Kitchee, HKFC Captain’s Select

Group C: Newcastle United, Glasgow Rangers, Newcastle Jets, Hong Kong Football Club

Group D: Leicester City, Brighton & Hove Albion, HKFA Red Dragons, Singapore Cricket Club

Newcastle Jets squad:

Solomon-John Moanhan-Vaiika (c), Jospeh O’Connor, Ryan Goodhew, Kent Harrison, Jack Simmons, Kieran Hayes, Jackson Frendo, Noah James, Angus Thurgate, Kaleb Cox