Jets to host Perth Glory in FFA Cup


The Newcastle Jets will host fellow Hyundai A-League side Perth Glory in their FFA Cup Round of 32 fixture.

The Newcastle Jets will host fellow Hyundai A-League side Perth Glory in their FFA Cup Round of 32 fixture.

NNSW NPL teams Broadmeadow Magic and South Cardiff FC will play Brisbane Strikers and South Springvale respectively.

Reigning Hyundai A-League 2014 champions Brisbane Roar will head west to take on Western Australian NPL club Stirling Lions in the first round of the Westfield FFA Cup.

Former Socceroos Paul Okon and Mile Sterjovski conducted the inaugural Round of 32 draw which saw last season-s other three Hyundai League semi-finalists – Western Sydney Wanderers, Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Victory matched against Member Federation clubs Adelaide City, South Coast Wolves and Bayswater City respectively.

The three Hyundai A-League club match ups are headlined by Melbourne City hosting Sydney FC and new Sky Blues Coach Graham Arnold, while Perth Glory will head to Newcastle to face the Jets, and Wellington Phoenix will tackle Adelaide United.

Of the Member Federation pairings, all bar one sees clubs from different States or Territories meet, with the only local State derby to be between NSW NPL clubs Manly United and Sydney Olympic.

The 32 teams in the inaugural edition of the Westfield FFA Cup comprise the ten Hyundai A-League clubs plus 22 Member Federation clubs across seven States and Territories throughout the country.

Of the Member Federation clubs, nine – Adelaide City, Blacktown City, Brisbane Strikers, Hakoah Sydney City, Parramatta FC, South Coast Wolves, Sydney Olympic, Sydney United and Melbourne Knights – have links back to the National Soccer League (NSL).

Whilst the Westfield FFA Cup 2014 Draw has now revealed who will meet who in the Round of 32, the specific match details in regards to the dates, venues and kick-off times will be announced on Monday 30 June 2014 after consideration of each participating club-s league fixtures as well as venue availability and suitability.

The 16 matches in the Round of 32 of the Westfield FFA Cup 2014 will be split over four weeks (29/30 July, 5/6 August, 12/13 August & 19/20 August), with four games scheduled per week either on Tuesday or Wednesday nights. Fox Sports will broadcast at least ten matches in the competition from the Round of 32 onwards, including all four Quarter Finals, both Semi Finals and the Westfield FFA Cup Final 2014.

The opening match day of the Round of 32 is scheduled for Tuesday 29 July 2014 and all matches will be played in Australia.