Jesic earns U23s selection


Jets’ striker Marko Jesic is included in the Under 23s Head Coach Aurelio Vidmar’s 19-player squad for the AFC Asian Qualifiers.

Qantas Australian Under 23s Head Coach Aurelio Vidmar has selected a 19-player squad for the upcoming AFC Asian Qualifiers for the 2012 London Games, which includes Newcastle Jets’ striker Marko Jesic.

Vidmar knows the importance of these upcoming two matches against Iraq and Uzbekistan in qualification process.

“After drawing our opening match against the UAE we need to get a good result from these two matches to give us the best possible chance of qualifying for the Olympics,” said Vidmar.

“With injuries to a number of players we have used in the previous matches, we-ve selected a few new faces following our recent training camp in Sydney.

“It will be up to these players to take their opportunity and step up to the challenge ahead.

“We will have a short camp together in Qatar before the Iraq match to work on things and I-m confident that the boys are up to it.”

The Qantas Australian Under 23s will play Iraq in their next AFC Asian Qualifiers for the 2012 London Games match on Tuesday 22 November (Al Arabi Stadium, Doha, Qatar) and then Uzbekistan five days later at Parramatta Stadium in NSW.

The teams in each group of the third round of qualifying play in a home-and-away format from 21 September 2011, to 14 March 14, 2012, with the winner of each group directly qualifying for the London 2012 Olympic Games Football competition.

The three second-placed teams from the third round will clash in a playoff at a centralised venue from March 25 to 29, 2012, and the winners of this group will meet the representatives of CAF (Africa) for a berth in the 2012 London Olympic Games.

The AFC Asian Qualifiers for the 2012 London Games match between the Qantas Australian Under 23s and Uzbekistan will also be broadcast live and exclusive on FOX SPORTS.


Aziz Behich
Mark Birighitti (gk)
Oliver Bozanic
James Brown
Kofi Danning
Mate Dugandzic
Matthew Foschini
Rhyan Grant
Jason Hoffman
Marko Jesic
Matthew Jurman
Brad McDonald
Dylan McGowan
Daniel Mullen
Mitch Nichols
Dimitrios Petratos
Sebastian Ryall
Mathew Ryan (gk)
Adam Taggart