Jesic added to Jets

Former AIS-striker Marko Jesic will join the Newcastle Jets’ squad for the team’s Round 3 clash against Perth Glory.

The Newcastle Jets have added former Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) striker Marko Jesic into the squad for tonight-s clash with Perth Glory at Members Equity Stadium.

Considered one of the brightest young prospects in Australian football, Jesic comes into the squad on a 1-week deal to replace striker Jason Naidovski who is away on Qantas Young Socceroos duty with fellow Jets striker Jason Hoffman.

The 19-year-old striker, born on August 7, 1989, has been training with the team for some months and should slot comfortably into Gary van Egmond-s team.

Jesic has represented Australia at Under-17 and Under-20 levels, and in 2007 was granted one of twenty-five AIS scholarships alongside Jets- players Naidovski and James Holland.

Jets CEO John Tsatsimas today stated that the club was delighted to have the talented youngster on board for the crucial game against the Glory.

“We-re certainly pleased to have a young player of Marko-s calibre joining our ranks for this weekend whilst young Naidovski and Hoffman are away with the Young Socceroos.

“Our coaching staff have done a superb job of bringing young players through the ranks thus far and I-m certain that Marko will join the list of successful young players who have achieved with our club,” Mr. Tsatsimas said.

Match Details:

Friday, 22 August
Perth Glory v Newcastle Jets
Members Equity Stadium
Kick-Off: 9:00pm (AEST)

Newcastle Jets Squad: 1 Ante COVIC, 2 Adam GRIFFITHS, 3 Jade NORTH, 5 James HOLLAND, 7 Kaz PATAFTA, 8 Matt THOMPSON, 9 Joel GRIFFITHS, 10 Jin-Hyung SONG, 11 Tarek ELRICH, 12 Jobe WHEELHOUSE, 13 Adam D-APUZZO, 16 Ben KANTAROVSKI, 18 Noel SPENCER, 20 Ben KENNEDY, 23 Edmundo ZURA, 24 Marko JESIC.
* one to be omitted

Newcastle Jets 2008/09 season memberships are still available from www.newcastlejets.com.au.

The Newcastle Jets will return home to EnergyAustralia Stadium on Saturday, 13 September to take on Sydney FC. Tickets for this NSW blockbuster are available from www.proticket.com.au.