2010/11 NYL Draw

Newcastle Jets National Youth League Fixtures Released

FFA and Newcastle Jets

Football Federation Australia (FFA) have released the National Youth League 2010/11 season draw.

The third season of Australia-s premier under 21-s competition will again feature 9 teams including Adelaide United, Australian Institute of Sport, Brisbane Roar, Central Coast Mariners, Gold Coast United, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory and Sydney FC.

Kicking off on 18 September, The National Youth League 2010/11 season will see 90 matches played over 23 weeks of competition. The structure of this edition of the competition will see a league only format without a final series, to reflect the developmental role that the National Youth League plays.

The Newcastle Jets NYL side will play all ten home fixtures out of Adamstown Oval this season. The fixtures allocated are two Friday games, five Saturday games and three Sunday games.

After reviewing the draw, NYL Head Coach Craig Deans had this to say…

“It is important to build momentum in the early stages of the season, and we certainly have a chance to do that after receiving three home games in the first four rounds (including a bye) so it’s vital that we take advantage of that”

“Ultimately, our goal is to prepare these young footballers should they be required to make the step up to our A-League side. We have retained several key players from last season and with the addition of young local talent it gives us several years with these boys to instill the way we play football at the Newcastle Jets”

The success of the National Youth League has already seen more the 30 players progress to the Hyundai A-League and other international domestic leagues.

As another level to FFA-s National Strategic Framework, the National Youth League puts a major focus on the development of players to progress seamlessly from to the Hyundai A-League and Australian national teams.

Entry to Adamstown Oval is free.

View the full NYL fixture list here