18-man squad named for FC clash


Gary van Egmond has named an 18-player squad for Sunday’s important game against Sydney FC at the SFS.

The Newcastle Jets have today named an 18-player squad for Week 18-s match against Sydney FC at the Sydney Football Stadium.

Into the squad this week comes Labinot Haliti, James Virgili, Marko Jesic and Ali Abbas. The one omission is Ben Kantarovski, who is overseas on Olyroos’ duties.

The coach will finalise this squad to a traveling squad on Saturday and a final starting eleven will be named 90 minutes prior to kick-off on Sunday afternoon.

Newcastle Jets Week 18 squad: 1. Ben Kennedy (gk), 2. Taylor Regan, 4. Nikolai Topor-Stanley, 5. Tiago Calvano, 8. Jeremy Brockie, 9. Michael Bridges, 10. Ruben Zadkovich, 11. Tarek Elrich, 12. Jobe Wheelhouse (c), 13. Byun, 14. Labinot Haliti, 17. James Virgili, 18. Marko Jesic, 19. Matthew Nash (gk), 22. Ali Abbas, 23. Ryan Griffiths, 24. Francis Jeffers, 25. Jacob Pepper.
In: Haliti, Virgili, Jesic, Abbas (all promoted).
Out: Kantarovski (Olyroos).