New faces in Jets squad


Andrew Hoole and Mitch Oxborrow are among those included in the Jets’ 16-man squad for Friday’s match against Perth.

The Hunter Ports Newcastle Jets have travelled to Perth with a 16-man squad for their clash with Perth Glory at nib Stadium on Friday night.

Mitchell Oxborrow and Andrew Hoole are both in line to potentially make their A-League debuts against the Glory after being added to the travelling squad.

The pair has earned a call-up to the first team following their impressive form for the Jets- National Youth League side in recent weeks.

Young forward Adam Taggart returns to the squad following a successful campaign with the Socceroos at the East Asian Cup qualifying tournament.

The Jets also welcome back Josh Mitchell and Ryan Griffiths from suspension, while Tiago Calvano returns from a heel injury.

“We welcome back Josh and we welcome back Ryan and they-ll definitely figure in the starting side,” Jets head coach Gary van Egmond said.

“We-ve also got Tags coming back from national team duty and Tiago is back as well.

“We-ve got a few troops coming back and that helps with the confidence as well.

Taggart arrived back in Australia on Tuesday and van Egmond said the coaching staff is still yet to determine what role the 19-year-old will play on match day.

“We-re not too sure whether we want to bring Tags off the bench, or start him,” van Egmond said.

“It-s about looking at the balance of the team and where he-s going to be best suited for us, so we-ll keep that a little bit closer to our chest.”

Newcastle Jets squad: 2. Scott Neville, 3. Tiago Calvano, 4. Josh Mitchell, 5. Dominik Ritter, 8. Ruben Zadkovich, 9. Emile Heskey, 11. Connor Chapman, 12. Josh Brillante, 15. Craig Goodwin, 17. James Virgili, 22. Adam Taggart, 23. Ryan Griffiths, 24. Mitch Oxborrow, 26. Andrew Hoole, 30. Jack Duncan (gk), 33. Matt Nash (gk).

Ins: Tiago Calvano, Josh Mitchell, Adam Taggart, Ryan Griffiths, Mitch Oxborrow and Andrew Hoole.
Outs: James Brown, Bernardo Ribeiro, Taylor Regan, Jacob Pepper and Michael Bridges.
Unavailable: Ben Kennedy (knee), Ben Kantarovski (knee), Mark Birighitti (cheekbone) and Jobe Wheelhouse (knee).