Jets’ Westfield W-League campaign launches


In a ceremony at Newcastle’s Town Hall yesterday evening, the Newcastle Jets’ Westfield W-League squad was revealed as they approach their season opener against the Western Sydney Wanderers this Sunday.

The squad, led by Head Coach, Craig Deans were honoured in an event hosted by Newcastle Lord Mayor, Nuatali Nelmes.

As part of the launch, each of the W-League players were presented with their jersey’s featuring new sponsors Newcastle City Council and Greater Bank.

In a celebration of the growth of the women’s game and football in the Hunter, the new partnerships were announced and applauded by Jets’ CEO, Lawrie McKinna.

“This is a really proud moment for us as a club,” said McKinna.

“To have so many people here to support the girls and their campaign in the 2017/18 (Westfield) W-League is tremendous.”

“Craig Deans has done a fantastic job in gathering a squad with this amount of talent and experience – I think it’s going to be an exciting year for Newcastle.”

W-League Head Coach, Craig Deans said it was a proud a moment his staff and the entire squad.

“To see the girls celebrated like this is fantastic, since joining the club we’ve been made to feel part of the Jets’ family and last night was no different,” said Deans.

“We’re all really excited at the things the club has been able to achieve for us already, with a new home at No.2 Sportsground, more corporate support and events like last night’s launch.

“For us, we’re just focused on Sunday and getting our campaign started on the right note.”

Newcastle Jets’ 2017/18 Westfield W-League squad:

  • Hannah Brewer
  • Tash Prior
  • Arin Gilliland
  • Cassidy Davis
  • Gema Simon
  • Sopie Nenadovic
  • Katie Stengel
  • Emily van Egmond
  • Cortnee Vine
  • Tara Andrews
  • Tara Pender
  • Nikola Orgill
  • Clare Wheeler
  • Jenna Kingsley
  • Ash Brodigan
  • Claire Coelho
  • Panagitoa Petratos
  • Tori Huster
  • Britt Eckerstrom

The Newcaslte Jets’ Westfield W-League squad is proudly supported by Newcastle City Council, Northern NSW Football and Greater Bank.