W-League: Fox Sports to increase W-League coverage




With less than a week to go until the start of the Westfield W-League season, FOX SPORTS have announced that they will increase the number of televised Westfield W-League games from 33 to 45, totalling a minimum of 80% of matches available to watch on Foxtel and stream on Kayo.

This includes up to four matches per round (up from two) as well as all the Westfield W-League 2021 Finals Series matches.

A brand-new A-League and Westfield W-League double header was announced yesterday as Brisbane Roar take on Melbourne City in Brisbane on Tuesday 29 December. Between the two teams, there will be 12 current Westfield Matildas and Westfield Young Matildas in the squads.

Melbourne City FC last week revealed four of their Westfield W-League matches will be played at NPL top tier club Dandenong City Soccer Club in Melbourne’s south-east, after the club announced it will relocate to the fast-growing region.

City’s Westfield W-League side will permanently move its training base to Casey Fields, right in the heart of the fast-growing south-east region, from August 2021 as part of City Football Academy’s move.



Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke said:

“The A-League and Westfield W-League are back and fans are going to be able to watch their heroes week in, week out on FOX SPORTS. Every Westfield W-League game is an opportunity to see Australia’s best young talent in action, including national team stars who have returned from Europe to re-join the League.”

Foxtel Group Director of Acquisitions and Sport Partnerships, Rebecca McCloy said: “The W-League is continuing to grow in popularity and stature, and we are incredibly pleased to be bringing more games, to more fans than ever before on Foxtel and Kayo.

“This is another milestone in Fox Sports’ commitment to produce, televise and build audiences for elite women’s sport and create new opportunities for Australia’s talented female athletes. We can’t wait for the W-League to start this Sunday.”

The Westfield W-League 2020/21 season on Tuesday 29 December between Brisbane Roar FC and Melbourne City FC at Dolphin Stadium and the A-League 2020/21 season will now open on Monday 28 December between Western United FC and Adelaide United at GMHBA Stadium.