Jets to host 14 huge home games in 2015-16


Newcastle Jets members and supporters can look forward to four huge home games in the opening six weeks of Hyundai A-League season 11 after Football Federation Australia (FFA) officially released the highly anticipated draw for the competition today.

While Jets players will fight for their first points of the campaign away to Wellington Phoenix in week one of the league, Newcastle’s supporters will get to see four of their 14 home matches at Hunter Stadium in the following five weeks of the regular season.

Indeed, the first four rivals to visit Newcastle will be last season’s grand finalists Sydney FC (round 2) and Champions Melbourne Victory (round 3), 2014 AFC Champions League winners Western Sydney Wanderers (round 5), and F3 Derby foes Central Coast Mariners (round 6).

Recently appointed Jets Head Coach Scott Miller said that he’s happy with the outcome of the draw for his side.

“I think it’s an opportunity rather than a challenge,” Miller said of hosting some of the A-League’s heavyweight clubs early in the campaign.

“Our focus will be consistent irrespective of the opposition – fixture focused and prepared technically and tactically with an aim to produce a positive performance.”

Of Newcastle’s 14 home games next season, two will be held on Friday evenings while six will be held on Saturday and Sunday afternoons respectively. 

The Jets are set to feature on free-to-air on Friday nights on SBS Television a minimum of five times throughout the 27 round regular season. 

Meanwhile, the club’s round 8 home match against Brisbane Roar will be held in partnership with the Williamtown Royal Australian Air Force base.

Highlights of the club’s away draw include a Christmas Eve cracker against Western Sydney Wanderers at Parramatta’s Pirtek Stadium, a January 9 encounter with Sydney FC at ANZ Stadium, and a final round rumble with the Mariners south of the divide. 

Newcastle Jets Hyundai A-League 2015-16 Draw Highlights

  • 14 of the club’s 27 fixtures to be held at home at Hunter Stadium. 
  • Four huge home games in opening six rounds of the competition with Sydney FC, Melbourne Victory, Western Sydney Wanderers, and Central Coast Mariners visiting Newcastle.
  • Round 8 home game against Brisbane Roar to be held in partnership with the Royal Australian Air Force.
  • Christmas Eve clash against Western Sydney Wanderers at Parramatta’s Pirtek Stadium.
  • Newcastle Jets to play Sydney FC at ANZ Stadium.
  • Easter Saturday home match against Perth Glory at Hunter Stadium.
  • A minimum of five matches set to be broadcast on free-to-air television (all games live on FOX SPORTS).