A-League cap numbers: celebrating the Jets’ proud history


The development of a strong club culture, and a nod to the Jets’ rich history are the main reasons behind an exciting new addition to the wardrobe for the 2017/18 Hyundai A-League squad.

This season, with players’ new warm-up shirts now feature their Jets A-League cap number.

Worn before every match, the kit features the players’ club number on the back, which references their position in chronological order, of all those who have appeared for the Jets in the Hyundai A-League.

Jets cap numbers

The numbered list of players dates back to the side who ran out in Newcastle’s inaugural Hyundai A-League match against Adelaide United in August 2005.

The earliest Jet on the list who has appeared for the side this season is Jason Hoffman, who wears number 41 after debuting in the Championship-winning 2007/08 season under coach, Gary Van Egmond.

The latest players to have appeared in the A-League for Newcastle are Kosta Petratos and Mario Shabow who both debuted for the club in the 3-0 victory against Wellington at the start of the month.

This is the first season in the club’s history where cap numbers have been placed on the club’s apparel.

The man behind the decision is also featured on the list – number 25 to be precise – former A-League Golden Boot and now Jets Football Operations Manager, Joel Griffiths.

Griffiths says he wanted to develop a strong culture within the club that respects both past and present players.

“The idea came to me about three months before the start of the season, when we were trying to figure out some ideas to rejuvenate the club and try to bring some culture back to the club.

“My idea around that was everyone has got a place [within the club]. Especially for the foreign boys, and the boys who have come from other clubs – I wanted them to feel a part of something.

Jets cap numbers

Griffiths said he feels it is crucial to have a strong team bond within a club, and initiatives like this help can help it to flourish.

“It’s always important to have a positive culture,” Griffiths said.

“The squad we have assembled at the moment definitely has that. But, it doesn’t happen overnight, you can’t just click your fingers and have a really successful culture – it takes time.

“With the current playing squad, I think we have a great mix of players young and old. There are no egos, everyone gets on and does their business and it is showing on the weekend.

“Everyone has responded really positively to the concept, and I must acknowledge the good work of David Keating for providing all the information to make this idea a reality.”

2017/18 A-League squad cap numbers:

Jason Hoffman – 41

Ben Kantarovski – 47

Nikolai Topor-Stanley – 67

Jack Duncan – 90

Nick Cowburn – 119

Nigel Boogaard – 129

Lachlan Jackson – 134

Steven Ugarkovic – 136

Wayne Brown – 140

Andrew Nabbout – 141

Devante Clut – 142

Ivan Vujica – 143

John Koutroumbis – 144

Dimitri Petratos – 151

Ronald Vargas – 152

Roy O’Donovan – 153

Daniel Georgievski – 154

Joe Champness – 155

Mario Shabow – 156

Kosta Petratos – 157

Glen Moss – 158